Municipality: Breede Valley Local Municipality


"A Unique and Caring valley of Service Excellence, Opportunity and Growth"


Breede Valley Municipality
30 Baring Street Private Bag X3046
6849 Worcester
South Africa
Phone: 023 348 2600


The Breede Valley Municipality covers an area of approximately 3 015 km² stretching from the Du Toitskloof Mountains in the south-west to the Kwadousberg Mountains in the south-east. It includes the towns of Rawsonville, Worcester, De Doorns and Touws River as well as the rural areas adjacent to and between these towns and the Matroosberg rural area. The most striking feature of the Breede Valley in the Western Cape is its scenic beauty. Majestic mountains, fertile valleys, vineyards and vast plains, covered with indigenous semi-desert vegetation, captivate the soul. The region has an estimated population of 198 700 (inclusive of the informal settlements). The local municipality is approximately 125 kilometres east of Cape Town and is part of the Cape Winelands District Municipality. Breede Valley Municipality’s head office is located in Worcester. The Breede Valley has a vibrant economy, based on strong agricultural, manufacturing and tourism sectors. The commercial and service sectors are also well-developed.