Municipality: Cape Winelands District Municipality


The Cape Winelands District Municipality is situated in the Western Cape Province. The district includes 5 local municipalities, namely:

  • Drakenstein  Local Municipality;
  • Stellenbsoch  Local Municipality;
  • Witzenberg  Local Municipality;
  • Breede Valley  Local Municipalityand
  • Langeberg Municipalit Local Municipality.

District municipalities administer and make rules for a district, which includes more than one local municipality. The purpose of district municipalities and local municipalities sharing the responsibility for local government in their areas is to ensure that all communities, particularly disadvantaged communities, have equal access to resources and services. This will help some local municipalities who don't have the capacity (finances, facilities, staff or knowledge) to provide services to their communities. It will also help to cut the costs of running a municipality by sharing resources with others. The 'richer' areas will help the 'poorer' areas.