Municipality: Dr Kenneth Kaunda District Municipality


City Offices
158 Loveday Street Braamfontein
2000 Johannesburg , Gauteng
South Africa
Phone: 011-407-6111 / 407-7300
Fax: 011-403-1012
Gauteng ZA


In terms of the Municipal Demarcation Act (27 of 1998), the Southern District Municipality has been established as a Category C Municipality. The District area consists of the following Local Municipalities:

  • Tlokwe Local Municipality
  • Ventersdorp Local Municipality
  • Klerksdorp Local Municipality and
  • Maquassi Hills Local Municipality

The area encompasses a total of 15 712 km² with a projected population of 604939 in 2001. 

The Southern District is a relatively prosperous and dynamic region of South Africa. Its quality of life is amongst the best that South Africa has to offer, reflected in its high average incomes, extensive access to basic infrastructure, world-class medical and educational facilities, and relatively low rate of serious crimes. Its excellent location, healthy climate and access to the largest markets in Africa make this area an ideal location for business.

The sectors with most potential are agriculture, agro-processing, pharmaceuticals, environmentally-friendly technologies, tourism, composite materials manufacturing, chemicals and fertilizers, property development, information and communications technology, education and training services and health services. 

Although the area, as South Africa in general, faces important challenges in terms of poverty alleviation, the local governments in the District are determined to effectively address poverty and lack of access to basic services. The Integrated Development Plans of the municipalities in the region provides 5-year plans supported by capital budgets to fast-track the development of all the people in this culturally rich and diversified area of Africa.