Municipality: Drakenstein Local Municipality


" A Place of Excellence"


Drakenstein Municipality
Bergriver Boulevard
7622 Paarl
South Africa
Phone: 021 807 4500
Fax: 021 872 8054


Drakenstein Local Municipality is situated in the Cape Winelands District of the Western Cape, and is approximately 60km east of the Cape Town Central Business District.

The Municipality is strategically located on the national road and railway routes to the rest of South Africa and effectively forms the gateway to the City of Cape Town. The Drakenstein Municipality covers an area of 1,538 km and comprises of the towns of Paarl, Wellington, Saron, Gouda, and Hermon. It is a strong economic centre of the region, with a strong agricultural, tourism, light manufacturing industry and business services base and has recorded positive economic growth over the  period 2001 to 2009.

The Drakenstein Municipality stretches from just south of the N1 freeway including Simondium in the south up to and including Saron in the north. The Klein Drakenstein, Limiet and Saron Mountain range from its eastern edge and the agricultural area immediately to the west of the R45 its western border.  Paarl and Wellington are the main urban centres in the Municipality located in close proximity to the N1 in the south with smaller rural settlements at Saron and Gouda in the north and Hermon in the mid-west.