Municipality: Kopanong Local Municipality


Kopanong Local Municipality
20 Louw Street
9913 Trompsburg , Free State
South Africa
Phone: 051-713-9200
Fax: 051-713-0335
Free State ZA


The Kopanong Municipal area is situated in the southern Free State. It has the largest surface area of the three local municipalities in the Xhariep district, covering 15,190 km² (44.5%). The nine towns situated in Kopanong are Trompsburg (municipal head office), Gariep, Dam, Springfontein, Bethulie, Philippolis, Jagersfontein, Fauresmith, Edenburg and Reddersburg. 

Kopanong is well positioned between the Cape and Gauteng. The Transgariep tourism route attracts visitors and there is great tourism potential at Gariep Dam, Bethulie, Philippolisand Fauresmith. 

The municipal area is predominantly agricultural, although very few value-added activities take place. There is therefore potential for job creation in this sector, but agriculture and trade skills need to be developed. A constraint on economic growth is the accessibility of Colesberg and its strenght as a service centre.