Municipality: Langeberg Local Municipality


People at the centre of development


Montagu Municipal Office
03 Piet Retief Street
South Africa
Phone: 023 614 8000


Five former municipalities - that of Ashton, Bonnievale, McGregor, Montagu and Robertson  - havev merged into one and are now known as the Langeberg Municipality. The Langeberg Municipality is in the Cape Winelands District of the Western Province. The Langeberg Municipal Council is the ultimate political decision-making body of the municipality. Ward councillors are the major link between the municipal government and the residents. The Executive Mayor of the Langeberg takes overall strategic and political responsibility for the city, while the Municipal Manager heads the city's administration. The heads of departments and officials are responsible for physically implementing policy.

The Municipality is led by an Executive Mayor, Alderman (Mrs) Diana Gagiano. The Mayor takes overall strategic and political responsibility for the area. There are 23 councillors with 12 being ward councillors and 11 being proportional representation councillors. The Democratic Alliance has a majority with 11 councillors. The ANC has 7 seats. Another three parties also have elected representatives on the council (2 Civic Independent members, one PDM member, 1 Cope member and one WCC member). The Municipal Manager, Mr Soyisile Andreas Mokweni,  heads the Langeberg administrative division and provides the link between the political and administrative arms of town government. The administration has just over 600 employees divided into the Executive Mayoral Office, the Municipal Manager's Office and four directorates - Financial Services, Infrastructure Development, Corporate Services and Community Services.