Municipality: Waterberg District Municipality


Municipal Office
Chris Hani Drive
0480 Bela-Bela , Limpopo
South Africa
Phone: 014-736-8000
Fax: 014-736-3288
Limpopo ZA


Waterberg is one of the five districts in Limpopo province. The seat of Waterberg is Modimolle (formerly knowns as Nylstroom). The majority of population, 614 139, speak Northern Sotho.  The district has five local municipalities under its juristiction, these are:

  • Bela-Bela LM
  • Lephalale LM
  • Modimolle LM
  • Mogalakwane LM
  • Mookgophong LM
  • Thabazimbi LM 

As a key contributor to the Provincial GGP at 28.8%, agricultural and forestry development in Waterberg is seen as another key catalyst for significant economic development. Being predominantly rural, most of the District is suited for livestock production but also with some major cropping taking place in cotton, sunflower, tobacco, and soya bean production. The District is supporting agricultural growth by developing a policy for the subdivision of agricultural land in collaboration with the land claims commission and is negotiating the acquisition of state land for agricultural production.

Critical infrastructure

Roads in the WDM are adequately connected with National, Provincial, and District Roads. The primary route network includes the N1, N11, R518, R572, R33, R510, R516, and the R101. However, there is no direct route connecting the Limpopo Province and the North West Province. There is concern on the rapidly degrading of many roads due to the increasing economic activities in the District (increase in heavy vehicles with mining materials), and a lack of maintenance and rehabilitation. 


There is a rich biosphere which is home to the Makapan’s Valley World Heritage Site, the natural reserve, with an abundance of birds, fauna, flora and hot springs. This is a key catalyst for the development of the tourist industry which would provide economic opportunities needed to alleviate poverty.